It’s no secret that, unless you absolutely opt out, Google keeps an all-encompassing record of your every action on its agenda real estate. From your area history to the searches you accomplish on Google and YouTube, the aggregation goes to great lengths to glean more advice about you in the hope that it can serve better ads based on your web habits.

To allay such aloofness concerns, the aggregation has appear it’s rolling out new auto-delete controls for Area History and Web & App Action that allows you to choose a time limit (3 or 18 months) for how long you wish your action data to be saved. Any data prior to that time will be automatically deleted.

To enable this setting, head to Google Account > Data & Personalization > Manage your action controls > Choose Web & App action > Choose to delete automatically > Select the adapted time limit > Confirm.

It’s worth noting that Google already has manual options to turn these options on/off. Leaving them on allows you to enjoy a better alone Google, but ambience a time limit ensures that your recommendations will only be based on the bound historical data you share with Google which, while possibly not so precise, would still be useful.

Achieving claimed aloofness comes with its own set of trade-offs. But tech companies’ hunger for claimed advice has led to them adopting any means all-important to autumn as much data as possible, with little or no regard to attention alone privacy.

Time and again, they have been found to employ a series of cerebral dark patterns (link to the study here) to push users appear selecting aloofness advancing options. This after-effects in bargain aloofness for users, while at the same time giving you the apparition of control.

By “threatening” users with loss of functionality or abatement of their accounts if assertive settings are not enabled, companies have again resorted to a rewards-like system where the right action (which is aloofness intrusive) is compensated with a better service, while allotment to turn them off can result in a amends of some sort. What’s more, it’s always opt-out by default, never opt-in.

Google, for example, prevents users from adequate a fully alone Google Assistant acquaintance unless Web & App Activity, Device Information, and Voice & Audio Action settings are turned on. The search giant also came under criticism after it was apparent last year that Google could still track its users admitting axis the Area History ambience off.

There is still going to be a lot of your claimed data with Google. But the new feature, which is accepted to roll out common in the coming weeks, is a step in the right direction.

Read next: Chinese blockchain firm swaps Bitcoin for cannabis in search of new highs